top of page
Search

Fold Over Butterflies


Last week I featured a post about making caterpillars from an egg carton. So I thought I might as well add a post about making butterflies. Fold-over painting is a quick process art activity. To begin, fold a piece of paper in half. Then unfold it. Have the child place dots of paint along the fold line. Then fold the paper back over and spread the paint with your hand by rubbing the paper from the fold out. I prefer to use primary colors and then talk about how the colors mixed and what colors were created. Unfold the paper and you will see a beautiful mixture of color. Then add the butterfly body, eyes and antennae. There you have it. When I do this with children, they want to do it over and over again. I let them just have fun with it and let them repeat this process as much as they want. You do not necessarily need to make a butterfly, you can just enjoy making fold-over art. The result is different every time they do it. Enjoy.



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page