top of page
Search

Fishing for Pairs of Letters


This is a very simple activity that can readily be made at home from found objects. The fishing pole is a stick, a string, and a magnet that I robbed from my fridge. I tied and hot glued the magnet to the string, and attached the string to the stick. Then I cut index cards in half and wrote each letter out twice and then I attached paperclips to each card. The goal for this activity is for the child to recognize their letters and find the pairs of letters. For older children, you can write sight words or word families on the index cards. You could also write an addition or multiplication equation on one card and the sum or product on another card and have the child find the pairs. Although it is very simple, all my students enjoy this activity.



17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page